hosted by UpTown Waterloo

Join Us July 15-17, 2016

3 Days of FREE Live Jazz Music

Oakland Stroke

Experience the sound and soul of Tower of Power!

Oakland Stroke recreates the sound and soul of fabled Bay Area band, Tower of Power! Hear TOP classics like: “You’re Still a Young Man”, “Down to the Nightclub”, “You’ve Got To Funkifize” and many more. Founded in 2014 by Lou Pomanti and Tony Carlucci, Oakland Stroke has been a labour of love from the very start. Lou and Tony grew up with the music of Tower of Power right from the early 1970s, first seeing them in concert at Massey Hall in Toronto in 1976.

Oakland Stroke is a smokin’ 10 piece band, including a 5 man horn section, the same line-up Tower of Power uses live to this day. The band consists of a ‘who’s who’ of Canadian musicians, all well known in their own right. Their list of credits is far too long to do justice to here but check out the band’s line-up below to see for whom the musicians have played.

Lou Pomanti, organ (Michael Buble, BS&T)
Marc Rogers, bass (Nikki Yanofsky, Serena Ryder)
Steve Heathcote, drums (Drummer of the Year Canadian Smooth Jazz Awards)

Lou Bartolomucci, guitar
Tony Carlucci, trumpet (Fabulous T-Birds, Corey Hart)
Chris Howells, trumpet (Lighthouse)
John Johnson, tenor sax (Molly Johnson, Holly Cole)
John Panchyshyn, tenor sax (Ian Thomas, The Lincolns)
Simon Wallis, bari sax (Lighthouse)
George St. Kitts, lead vocals

Oakland Stroke captures the ‘sound’ and the ‘soul’ of Tower of Power, one of the world’s funkiest bands. Experience it live.